Priti Suri given “Mayre Rasmussen Award”

Dear Colleagues,

I would like to bring to your kind attention that on April 26, 2017, Ms. Priti Suri, a member of SILF and the Founder-Partner of PSA, was honoured with the prestigious lifetime career achievement “Mayre Rasmussen Award” for the Advancement of Women in International Law by the American Bar Association in Washington D.C. She is the first Asian to receive this award in the 18 years that it has been given out

The ABA awarded Priti with this honour, stating that: “Priti’s role as a mentor and in opening doors for women and women lawyers in India make her the perfect candidate for the Mayre Rasmussen Award”.

Priti was one of the first lawyers and, perhaps, a handful of women lawyers at the beginning of her career, who chose to pursue corporate international law, which as we all know was relatively unheard of at the time. In doing so, she helped change the perception of many a young lawyer on the scope and depth of law as a profession. She has since mentored many lawyers at her firm, with an eye out for talented young women, always with an uncompromising stance on quality and a single-minded dedication to her work.

To further encourage women in the profession, who still remain under-represented in the boardroom, at the bar, and at the bench, she established SOWL – the Society of Women Lawyers – along with like-minded colleagues, to give a voice to female legal practitioners in India. I had the honor

Her work has been universally appreciated, and she has been recognised by many publications as a leader in her field. Who's Who Legal lists her as a leading lawyer in many practice areas; IBLJ also included her name in “The A-List of India's top 100 lawyers”.

While accepting her award, Priti said that her goal is to “personally make sure that young women who want to practice international law have a platform to do so” and that “her work has only just begun”.

I congratulate her and her contribution to our legal industry.

A SILF – Bar Association of India delegation of twenty lawyers led by me witnessed this great event personally and physically at The Capital Hilton Washington on 26th April 2017.


About the Award:

The award is named after Mayre Rasmussen, who was a pioneer in the field of international business law. She was one of the first women to break into the international business law practice at a major international law firm Coudert Brothers. Following her work in private practice, she went on to successes in corporate law departments of two different companies in the San Francisco Bay area. She was one of the first women to achieve a major leadership position in ABA’s Section of International Law and Practice. She was also a mentor to many of the past and current leaders of the Section, but especially women coming into the Section and the ABA. She was also one of the founders of the Women's Interest Network, the very successful Section of International Law Committee.




Copyright Reserved 2011. Developed & Managed by Law et al. Media